Photo Poems: Day 5

2014-06-22 09.29.24

Finally, in early June, I was able to enjoy you,

after three months of having to writhe within

my own body, unable to escape myself,

pinning and wrestling myself down just to sleep

for fifteen minutes at a time.

But early June, that’s really our birthday–

this is when I could start to feel your breath

on my cheek , lay you on my chest, and know

you belong there, delighting in the weight of you.

You were just beginning to see the world,

push with your legs, lift your head and look around,

smile and laugh. We were both emerging.

2 thoughts on “Photo Poems: Day 5

Leave a Reply

