Princesses are NOT Created Equal

***Only women of privilege have time to even care about this issue. I realize there are more important things to discuss, BUT I need to vent.***

If you read Scary Mommy, there has been an uproar about whether or not parents should refer to their daughters as “princess.” Now I choose not to do this. The terms “princess” and “diva” have always made me cringe. However, I don’t care if you call your daughter a princess, BUT I do think it matters what princesses you are referring to. They are not created equal. Now I am not going to discuss their plotlines and many other issues. I could write an entire book, and I’m sure there are dissertations on this. I’m mainly interested in examining just the images, the appearances of the Disney “princesses” and comparing/contrasting them. I’m not even going to touch on real princesses and what they represent (but it’s not good, y’all). As my husband likes to say, we fought a war to get away from all that.

So let’s compare some of the choices you have when it comes to Disney princesses.

If you call your daughter a princess, does she think you mean Arielle or Merida, the redheads of Disney:

hair that flows perfectly, larger than possible eyes, a tiny waist, and limited clothing.

hair that flows perfectly, larger than possible eyes, a tiny waist, and limited clothing (and eyelash extensions)

VS.

unruly, beautiful hair, physical skill with a weapon, more clothing, a body type that is a bit more realistic, beautiful eyes, but they aren't gigantic.

unruly, beautiful hair, physical skill with a weapon, more clothing, a body type that is a bit more realistic, beautiful eyes, but they at least have realistic eyebrows, and she isn’t beckoning you with a smile. 

How about some of your princesses from different ethnic backgrounds? Who would you choose for your daughter to compare herself to?

Jasmine

TINY waist, huge brown eyes that seem to always have perfect eyeliner on them, a small nose, ordained with expensive jewels, and once again looooong, luscious hair. Yes, this is a “whole new world,” one that doesn’t exist. But I think it’s what Kim Kardashian is trying to obtain and that Ashley girl on The Bachelor…she’s really good evidence that you don’t want your daughter watching Jasmine.

 VS.

Princess_Mulan

Waist is a bit more realistic, a single hair is actually out of place!, she stands in a posture of strength, unlike Jasmine, her eyebrows are a normal size. But they all have perfectly blushed cheeks….We’re talking about the lesser of two evils, people.

So I know I can’t convince you to stop calling your daughter princess and really I don’t want to, but please don’t call MY daughter a princess (strangers do this). The eyerolls I will give you might kill. I’d really just like us to try and be more discerning about what princesses we “give” to our children. I know that Cinderella gets all the hype, but maybe we can redirect just a little and point them towards Belle, who is an intellectual at heart (isn’t she just a bit better as a role model?)

belle

Finally, I know you will think/say, “they are just little kids, they don’t take any of that in.” They are sponges. They take it all in.

And if you just want to forget all this and blow off some steam, I highly recommend Disney Power Hour. You sing along and drink with friends. It’s the best.

One thought on “Princesses are NOT Created Equal

Leave a Reply

