My Chatty Kathy

Mae has really been blowing us away with her verbal skills lately. How was she just a little blob of baby over a year ago? I can’t keep up with all her new words, so I thought I’d try and write them down, take note of what she can say right now.

Mae’s always known how to communicate. Those first few months, she could only communicate by crying, and she was REALLY good at that. She let us know every little emotion she felt by screaming, whimpering, and wailing.

Now, that need to be heard has turned into words. REAL words. She tell us what she wants and likes and observes. Since I make my living teaching people who to communicate and express themselves, this part of Mae’s development is thrilling for me. Here’s a list of the words she says and understands right now. I love that the list shows what’s important in her world:

Hat

Hot

Mama

Dada

Baby

Wolf

Cake

Thank you!

Meow

Woof

Moo

Quack

Snack

Hi

Bye

Tutu

Shoes

Ball

Apple

Flower

Tree

Baba (bottle)

Cup

Juice

Book

Fish

George

Bird

No!

All done.

Bubbles

Rock-rock

Hop, hop (when she sees a bunny)

Leave a Reply

