Best of Both Worlds?

I feel very lucky to have my schedule, most of the time. And honestly, with a young child, having a good schedule at work is a major benefit. It’s one of the main complaints I hear from working moms: too many hours at work.

On a good week, I spend about 25 hours on campus per week . This means I get a lot more time with Mae than other full-time working parents. I’m so grateful for this, BUT (you knew it was coming), it’s challenging to parent in this in between place. I’m not a stay-at-home parent and I’m not a parent who works 8-5. I work 11-5 and 7-9 and Saturday and Sundays during naptime, or some other variant of that. I don’t fully relate to SAHM and I don’t fully understand 8-5ers. I know that no choice is a perfect one. I also know that I want to work.

Basically, I’m constantly switching between roles, multiple times a day, and it’s exhausting me. 

I feel guilty at work and overwhelmed at home, and Mae has become a teething tyrant this week. 

My goal for next week is to use my transition time more wisely. I have a 45 minute commute to and from work, so I want to ease myself into each role of teacher and mother. Set my intention for each. How am I going to do this? I don’t know. Got any ideas?

If that doesn’t help, I’m looking into a wine IV.

This too shall pass, I know.

Leave a Reply

