Tell A Mom: Childcare Mamas & Nannies

For moms who work outside the home, we have to entrust our children to others each day. I don’t know if this ever gets easy, but it’s gotten easier, because we have wonderful women helping to raise Mae.

On Wednesdays and Thursdays, Mae goes to an in-home daycare, and I miss her, but her nanny is one of the most conscientious and calm people I’ve ever met. And she does so much more than the minimum. She sends me photos of Mae throughout the day, and she is always observing Mae and picking up on any changes or developmental cues. She makes me a better parent. She also taught Mae how to clap!

On Mondays and Tuesdays, my mom (Mae’s Tutu) comes to watch her. Tutu drives 1.5 hours to our house to take care of Mae. When she walks through the door, Mae’s gummy smile takes up half of her face, and Arthur can’t stop dancing. We’re all pretty excited to see her. She radiates love and gentle nurturing for Mae all day. She also does some laundry, which is priceless. 🙂

So we have a village helping raise Mae and allowing me to teach my students. And even though I miss her, sometimes even ache for her on the drive to work, I am grateful she gets exposed to two wonderful women each week.

Anyone else thank her lucky stars for wonderful childcare “mamas”?

Here are a few photos of Mae during her days with her other caretakers.

.gt;
2015/01/img_0422.jpg

2015/01/img_0424.jpg

2015/01/img_0366.jpg

One thought on “Tell A Mom: Childcare Mamas & Nannies

Leave a Reply

