Sixteen Day Old Parents

Mae is asleep on my chest as I type this on my phone, so it may be short and full of typos.

She’s only been with us for a little over two weeks now, but it seems like so much longer. Our lives have been so drastically changed. It’s like everything before her is distant and hazy to me. I am also pretty sleep deprived, so that’s another reason.

We have learned a lot over the past sixteen days. The three most important realizations I’ve come to are:

1. I married a very patient and loving man. I knew this before Mae, but I now know this on a much deeper level. Whenever I am on the edge of exhaustion or frustration, Jimmy gives me a timeout or a word of encouragement or I catch him reading to our daughter from that Teddy Roosevelt biography and I laugh again.

2. Parents of newborns are warriors. Seriously, it’s man your battle stations come 9 PM around here. I admire all who have come before me.

3. Give up hope on sleep, so then anything you do get is a bonus.

20140304-140051.jpg

One thought on “Sixteen Day Old Parents

Leave a Reply

