Some Fun, Healthy Things

Like so many others, I’ve been getting my butt back in gear this month with eating healthy after the holidays. I’ve really been enjoying it, though. Jimmy and I love cooking at home together and trying out new recipes. Here are a few of the dishes and things I’ve been enjoying this month:

Image

Kale chips! They are crunchy and salty and delicious. You can make them in about 10 minutes, too. You can season them with just about anything: garlic salt, cajun seasoning, Old Bay, etc. A cup is about 50 calories.

Image

Mashed cauliflower! It tastes 87.5% like mashed potatoes and can also be flavored with rosemary and/or garlic. I can’t explain how excited I was when I tried these. The soy nuggets beside the cauliflower are from Earthfare. You can ask behind the deli case and they’ll sell you their nuggets in bulk. They are awesome, and I think they are the same ones The Remedy Diner gets from Morrisville, NC.

Image

Tacos! We’ve been a burrito family for too long. We switched to tacos lately, but the exciting part are the new fillings: fish, tempeh, or lentils! White fish, like tilapia or mahi, is great in tacos. I knew this but never made it at home. It’s so easy and inexpensive. Jimmy has become a master of making tempeh taste like ground beef, so that’s been a great addition, and I found a Happy Herbivore recipe that turns lentils into “taco meat,” and it is delicious! All of them are high in protein and low-calorie. We added mango salsa in the ones pictured above.

Image

Quick queso! This is a dairy-free topping made mostly of nutritional yeast. It’s a great option when you just aren’t feeling naked veggies. A 1/4 cup of this is only 40 calories.

Image

Sorry, I couldn’t get this photo to turn, so just turn your head. 😉 It’s my tea hat! It keeps my tea hot and you can grab your tea bag without burning your hand. It’s one of those things that I’d never buy myself, but Jimmy gave it to me as a stocking stuffer, and I just love it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

