Oranges for Valentine’s Day

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I always like to go back and read my favorite love poems in the days leading up to it. These poems help me block out the boxes of chocolate and focus on what the holiday should/could be about.

Here is a poem that could be about romantic love, but I think it’s mostly about loving everyday occurrences, appreciating the small joys in life. As we approach V-Day, think of it as a holiday to celebrate every kind of love– romantic, familial, self, everyday, unexplained…

The Orange – by Wendy Cope

At lunchtime I bought a huge orange
The size of it made us all laugh.
I peeled it and shared it with Robert and Dave—
They got quarters and I had a half.

And that orange it made me so happy,
As ordinary things often do
Just lately. The shopping. A walk in the park
This is peace and contentment. It’s new.

The rest of the day was quite easy.
I did all my jobs on my list
And enjoyed them and had some time over.
I love you. I’m glad I exist.

One thought on “Oranges for Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

