A Day in Asheville, NC

I’ve had some time off between my old job and new job at Methodist University! You’d think I would have written more blog posts, which I obviously have not. However, I have done some traveling around the state, and I got to visit one of my favorite places: ASHEVILLE! Thanks to John and Sara Boyle for graciously hosting me at their house.

If I only had a day in Asheville, here is what I would do:

1. Wake up and look out the window at the mountains. Step outside and enjoy the air that is not stifling hot.

2. Go to the Waking Life Espresso coffee shop in West Asheville. They are based in an old home, the coffee is delicious, and the people friendly. Just get coffee, though! I have somewhere else for breakfast.

3. Anyone who knows Asheville knows Sunny Pointe. There is always a line and a wait, and it is always worth it. Sunny Pointe has an on-site garden and uses local organic food. This is all well and good, but what people really come for are the amazing flavors.

4. After a healthy, delicious breakfast at Sunny Pointe, go on a hike off the Blue Ridge Parkway. I really enjoyed the Craggy Gardens Hike. It is a 1.5 mile hike (half of it up hill) at milepost 364. It is mostly shady with lots of butterflies! I saw four other people on the hike, so it wasn’t too isolated or busy. I liked the variety of rocks, gardens, and some water to see.

5. For lunch and/or dinner I recommend Salsa’s in downtown Asheville. This is a Mexican/Caribbean restaurant that puts together surprising combinations of flavors that end up making me savor every bite. Their salsas are fresh and bursts of flavor. I know I keep using the word flavor, but dang it’s all about flavor here! I love to try their different vegetarian burritos (the menu changes from time to time).

5. And of course, you need to shop before leaving. There are so many cool dress shops, art galleries, antique shops, etc. However, I like the little dress shops and consignment stores the best. Here are two that never fail to produce cute clothes at an affordable price: Virtue (downtown Asheville) and Reciprocity (West Asheville).

2 thoughts on “A Day in Asheville, NC

  1. Hey,
    I will go back to this post the next time Andy and I get to head that way! Asheville is fun. When is your sister moving here? Has she already come? Good luck in your new adventure!

Leave a Reply

