“Wallowing in Success”

I have been teaching at Miller-Motte College since May of 2010, and I have also been teaching a Career Development class, which is basically a self-help/career class, since I started here. One thing that I teach in the course is for my students to “wallow in their success” because we so often skim right past our accomplishments while we can focus on failures for long periods of time. Recently, I caught myself in the act of cruising right past a goal met.

If you didn’t know already, I am starting to teach at Methodist University in the fall. I was really excited to get the job, but I didn’t let myself celebrate for much more than a day, and then I was back to normal. However, an encounter this past weekend made me stop and pause and realize what a long journey it’s been to get here.

I ran into someone that I used to wait tables with several years ago. We had a great time catching up. When she asked me what I was up to these days, I explained to her about the new job and my writing. She exclaimed, “You’re doing exactly what you said you would! You got what you wanted!” I was taken aback. I thought back to when my goal of teaching at a university actually started, and it was in 2002 at UNCW. It has almost been a decade! I realized how hard I’d worked to get where I am and that I peservered through my many degrees even in the face of questions like “You’re getting a degree in what?” “What do you do with a degree like that?”

It took someone from my past to remind me what a “long, strange trip it’s been” to get here.

I am going to try to let myself soak up an accomplishment this time. I might wallow myself right into a massage or pedicure to celebrate this weekend. 😉

One thought on ““Wallowing in Success”

Leave a Reply

