If you were a fruit, what fruit would you be?

I used to ask this question of people when we first met. I would get one of two reactions:

1. They looked at me like I was the most ridiculous person on earth and walked away, shaking their heads.

2. They shouted out the first thing that came to mind.

Of course, I preferred #2 answers to the question. I was never sure what their answers meant, but the way they answered meant something. They were willing to take a risk and answer a seemingly silly question. Some people would put a lot of thought into their answers, saying things like, “A kiwi. You would never expect what’s inside based on what you see on the outside.” Jimmy answered, “A red apple,” on our first date. I took this to mean steady and loyal. Apples aren’t trying to hide anything. I think it turned out to be true. 😉

So, what fruit are you? Don’t hesitate, just answer. Don’t be a #1.

Be open to silly questions is the moral of the story.

11 thoughts on “If you were a fruit, what fruit would you be?

  1. I am a cherry. 🙂
    I took the personality quiz the other day–but I did not like the one I turned out to be–
    so I did not report back.
    ha!

    • I could see you as a cherry. Love it.

      Just remember with the personality test that it doesn’t fully represent you and some people fall in between types. You really need the Enneagram book to get the full effect.

  2. One addendum to my choice: I did say red apple, because it’s solid and sturdy. And because that hint of cyanide in the seed makes it a little dangerous.

    That question’s one of my favorite early-relationship memories. Thanks for reminding me of it.

Leave a Reply

