What are you looking forward to this week?

Almost every Sunday night without fail, Jimmy asks me this question, “What are you looking forward to this week?” and he doesn’t take “the weekend” as an answer. Sundays are lazy days, but they can also begin to be weighed down by thoughts of what’s to come Monday morning at work. By framing the week with what I’m looking forward to, I have to find the positive. Imagine if he ask, “What are you doing this week?” It would open the door to complaints. Complaining is the last thing you want to do as you start a week. Complaining says, I don’t plan to act on things this week; I plan to react.

Some Sundays it’s difficult, really difficult, to come up with many items to answer this question with. However, I always end up finding some, and they always make me feel better about entering into my work week. For instance, I wouldn’t have thought about how much I really do enjoy hearing my students’ speeches, which I will get to listen to tomorrow. They’re really entertaining and heartfelt. I could have easily framed their speeches as more grades for me to record and deal with.

It’s not what you’re looking at, but how you see it that matters. I think Thoreau said something like that once.

What are you looking forward to this week?

 

Leave a Reply

