One Good Thing

When I start to go to my I-can’t-believe-I’m-stuck-in-my-hometown place, I think about the CSA we’ve gotten every week from Rainbow Meadow Farms this summer. We’ve gotten the “regular” stuff, it seems wrong to call it regular since it’s so fresh, like sweet corn, tomatoes, squash, green beans, collards, and much more. However, they’ve also given us some surprises: japanese eggplant, thai eggplant, spaghetti squash, and turnips. We didn’t have a clue what to do with turnips, but we had heard of them. They were veggies our grandparents liked to eat, right?

Whether it was surprises or predictable foods we knew, the CSA has done so many great things for us this summer:

1. We save money at the grocery store. We haven’t bought any vegetables outside of the box. We get a box of veggies every week. We’ve also bought less fruits, now that we’re getting blueberries, peaches, and cantaloupe!

2. It’s made me have to learn how to cook new foods and in new ways. How do you grill a japanese eggplant? What goes with acorn squash? Before this, we’d been asparagus, corn, and green bean eaters.

3. We have to plan meals. We have more veggies than we know what to do with, so we’ve got to plan our meals around veggies. This is great! Instead of planning a meal around a fatty piece of meat, we’ve started asking questions like, “What goes with spaghetti squash?” It usually keeps things healthy. Tonight we had butternut squash baked with maple syrup, cinnamon, and paprika along with a tomato mozzarella salad. Fresh party in your mouth!

4. We’ve bonded in the kitchen during our veggie cooking adventures. Jimmy and I have no clue what to do with a thai eggplant, so it’s cultivated our culinary, I use that word very loosely, skills together. One of our hopes is that as a married couple we become better cooks together.

Check out the farm that provides this amazing service to the Greenville area:

http://www.facebook.com/l/16ae3;www.rmfpasturepuremeats.com
2 thoughts on “One Good Thing

  1. The CSA has re-oriented my eating habits — the idea of making a vegetable the centerpiece of a meal was totally foreign before we started. (But I do still love my steaks).

  2. Phillip and I have been talking for so long about doing this– I now feel confident enough to give it a shot! Glad to hear you guys are making it work.

    (I might have to ask for recipes!)

Leave a Reply

